Which country won the most Fields Medal?

Which country won the most Fields Medal?

Fields Medal for Mathematics Per Capita, 1936-2018

Country Awards Per capita
Russia ¹ 9 6.4
Sweden 1 10.1
United Kingdom 7 10.8
United States 14 4.2

Is Abel Prize and Fields Medal same?

Named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel (1802–1829), the Abel Prize and the Fields Medal have often been described as the “Mathematician’s Nobel Prizes”. It comes with a monetary award of Norwegian krone (NOK) 6 million (approximately US$1 million).

Where can I find more information about the Fields Medal? The Fields Medal is a prize awarded to two, three, or four mathematicians under 40 years of age at the International Congress of the International Mathematical Union (IMU), a meeting that takes place every four years.

What is the difference between the Fields Medal and Nobel Prize?

Unlike the Nobel Prize, the Fields Medal is only awarded every four years. The Fields Medal also has an age limit: a recipient must be under age 40 on 1 January of the year in which the medal is awarded.

READ ALSO:   Do autistic infants laugh?

Is the Fields Medal the most prestigious award in mathematics?

According to the annual Academic Excellence Survey by ARWU, the Fields Medal is consistently regarded as the top award in the field of mathematics worldwide, and in another reputation survey conducted by IREG in 2013-14, the Fields Medal came closely after the Abel Prize as the second most prestigious international award in mathematics.

What happened to the 2018 Olympic Fields Medals?

The most recent group of Fields Medalists received their awards on 1 August 2018 at the opening ceremony of the IMU International Congress, held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The medal belonging to one of the four joint winners, Caucher Birkar, was stolen shortly after the event.